Thirty-two words
366 Dare County Schools Graduates
Thirty-two words. Thirty-two powerful words, that 366 Dare County graduating seniors heard Superintendent of Schools Dr. Sue Burgess speak over June 13 and 14th. 
"By the power vested in me by the State of North Carolina, I hereby officially declare that the members of the Class of 2014 are graduates of ....
... First Flight High School - 
At First Flight High School, 196 graduates and platform guests streamed in the auditorium to the processional as directed by Bob Ebert on June 13 at 7:30 pm. Alexandra Nolte, SGA (Student Government Association) Secretary welcomed everyone and led the pledge. The FFHS Chorus, directed by Cezette Barnes, sang the alma mater, followed by flutist Sara Cook's playing of "Flying Free." SGA President Zach Smith gave inspirational remarks; Senior Class Secretary Andrew Scott introduced the platform guests; Senior Class Vice President Madeline Bailey introduced the Honor Graduates; Murphy Brown introduced the North Carolina, Stem and Global Scholars; Senior Class Treasurer Taylor Seal introduced the AVID graduates, and Sam Tronolone gave the expression of appreciation.  Sam Eure gave the Salutatory address. Taylor Bancroft introduced Brandon Harris, FFHS Teacher of the Year 2013-2014, who gave the commencement address. The valedictorian was Kathrin Hennigan, who have the address. FFHS Principal Arty Tillett presented the Nighthawk Award to Murphy Grant. The candidates for graduation were presented by the Administrative Team of Caroline Pearce and Dennis Reaser, with Arty Tillett or Dare County Alternative School Principal Teresa Twyne presenting diplomas. Taylor Seal and Taylor Bancroft presented each graduate with an hibiscus lei. Six graduates were from DCAS, and 190 from FFHS. Burgess uttered the words, and they were off to great things, but first, to celebrate with their families.
... Manteo High School - 
With the processional under the Direction of Larry Keeler, 117 Manteo High School and 11 Dare County Alternative School graduates and platform guests entered the Waterside Theatre at the Lost Colony.  Leo Woodard, SGA Co-Vice President led the pledge, with his counterpart Haley Guiley introducing the platform guests, welcoming commissioners in attendance, and introducing the academic marshals who were not on stage. Assistant Principal Meldine Lee introduced the Honor Graduates, the North Carolina Scholars, STEM, and AVID graduates. Paige Twyne gave the salutatory address, SGA Secretary Amelia Anglin introduced Anna Thomas, Teacher of the Year, who gave the keynote address. Taylor Cecil gave the Valedictory address, followed by Principal John Luciano honoring  Matthew Twiddy, who has not missed a day of school since beginning Headstart - perfect attendance for 14 years of school. Meldine Lee called forth the candidates for graduation, who were awarded diplomas by John Luciano or Dare County Alternative School Principal Teresa Twyne, and given a tiger lily - the class flower - before leaving the stage. The alma mater was sung under the direction of Becki Rea, and once again, Dr. Burgess proclaimed them as graduates before they left the theatre to the arms of friends and family.
... Cape Hatteras Secondary School - 
The Cape Hatteras Secondary School Band performed for the crowd that had gathered in the William P. Dillon Gymnasium and played the processional as the graduates filed in with platform guests. The colors were presented by the US Coast Guard and the pledge was led by Shane Dawson. Everyone was welcomed by Ximena Ayala. Assistant Principal Annette O'Neal introduced the salutatorian, Andrea Hueck, who in turn gave the salutatory address. Lorraine Turick introduced Dr. George Johnson, English teacher, who gave the keynote speech. Principal Beth Rooks introduced the valedictorian, Chris Johnson, who gave remarks. Principal Rooks gave the Citizenship award to Olivia Gaskins. Dr. George Johnson called forth the commencement candidates, with Principal Rooks and Assistant Principal O'Neal handing out diplomas. Dr. Burgess pronounced them as official graduates, and Chris Johnson proceeded to turn the tassels. In tribute to their skill and to Band Director Sean McCroskey, seniors Savannah Brown, Ian Folb, Abby Gray, Bailey Gray, Seth Gray, Andrea Hueck, David Isbrecht, Jr., James Pitetti, Zach Sturgill, Drew Tawes and Andrea Wilson played selections from the work of Gustav Holst and Ralph Vaughan Williams, before Alexis Gray gave the closing remarks, and the new graduates filed out of the auditorium to Pomp and Circumstance played by the Band under McCroskey's direction.